Don Cornelius, Creator of “Soul Train, Takes His Own Life

The televised dance marathon “Soul Train” was a staple in black culture since its debut in 1971 well into 2006. Don Cornelius, the show’s creator, was found dead in his Sherman Oaks, CA home Wednesday morning by police. Los Angeles County Assistant Chief Coroner Ed Winter said Cornelius was pronounced at Cenars Sinai-Medical Center dead from a self-inflicted gunshot wound to the head. He was 75.

“I am shocked and deeply saddened at the sudden passing of my friend, colleague, and business partner Don Cornelius,” said Quincy Jones. “Don was a visionary pioneer and a giant in our business. Before MTV there was ‘Soul Train,’ that will be the great legacy of Don Cornelius. His contributions to television, music and our culture as a whole will never be matched. My heart goes out to Don’s family and loved ones.”

Within the last few years, Cornelius has struggled through a 3-year probation after being arrested for beating his wife Victoria Cornelius in 2008, difficult divorce proceedings in 2009 and serious health issues, including a stroke and a brain condition.

He told a Los Angeles judge that he wanted to “finalize this divorce before I die,” which was made official in 2010.

The Soul Train Awards planned to return on Nov. 29 after a two-year hiatus, honoring record executive Anthony “L.A.” Reid, and music legends Chaka Khan, Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds and Charlie Wilson in Atlanta. It was the platform that helped put R&B music at the forefront.

Regardless of his personal problems, Cornelius, who has a star in the Hollywood Walk of Fame, still found passion in the music.

“I figured as long as the music stayed hot and important and good, that there would always be a reason for ‘Soul Train,” he said.

Watch the famed “Soul Train” line below hosted by Cornelius in 1974.

Daps to: AP, TMZ and NY Times

Tagged , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “Don Cornelius, Creator of “Soul Train, Takes His Own Life

  1. Hi a really big for giving Great information.I am bookmarking your website for future research.continue this good work.

  2. Appreciation to my father who informed me about this weblog, this webpage is genuinely remarkable.

  3. Hi there, the whole thing is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s in fact good, keep up writing.

  4. I regard something truly special in this site.

  5. I have learn a few just right stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you put to make such a magnificent informative web site.

  6. I savour, cause I found exactly what I was having a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  7. I do believe all of the concepts you’ve presented in your post. They’re really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too quick for newbies. May you please lengthen them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

  8. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  9. Thank you for another informative website. Where else could I get that kind of info written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  10. Rene says:

    Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is actually irritating. A good site with interesting content, that is what I need. Thank you for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

  11. I like this website very much so much superb info.

  12. Awesome looking website. I recently built mine and I was looking for some design ideas and you gave me a few. May I ask you whether you developed the website by youself?

  13. Hi there, yup this article is really good and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

  14. I wanted to follow along and allow you to know how great I appreciated discovering your web blog today. I’d personally consider it a honor to do things at my workplace and be able to use the tips discussed on your site and also participate in visitors’ feedback like this. Should a position associated with guest publisher become available at your end, you should let me know.

  15. Such are really awesome YouTube videos, its my good fortune to go to see this website and finding such cool YouTube movies.

  16. iPhone 5 says:

    Thank you for your blog post. Johnson and I have been saving to buy a new ebook on this topic and your article has made us all to save the money. Your opinions really clarified all our concerns. In fact, above what we had known ahead of the time we stumbled on your wonderful blog. My partner and i no longer have doubts plus a troubled mind because you have attended to each of our needs in this article. Thanks

  17. dating service…

    Thanks for the a new challenge you have revealed in your blog post. One thing I’d prefer to touch upon is that FSBO relationships are built eventually. By bringing out yourself to owners the first saturday and sunday their FSBO will be announced, befo…

  18. agen bola says:

    Merely wanna input on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the content is really excellent. “Good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment.” by Barry LePatner.

  19. krasnal2 says:

    hey hey you can call me crasnal man, that’s what i am

  20. Thanks so much pertaining to giving me an update on this theme on your web site. Please be aware that if a completely new post appears or in the event that any adjustments occur about the current posting, I would consider reading a lot more and understanding how to make good usage of those techniques you reveal. Thanks for your time and consideration of other men and women by making this blog available.

  21. I am impressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lot of good resources here. I am sure I will visit this place again soon.http://www.balenciagastore.com/balenciaga-bags-1/style

  22. We would like to thank you all over again for the wonderful ideas you offered Jeremy when preparing her own post-graduate research plus, most importantly, regarding providing the many ideas in a blog post. If we had been aware of your site a year ago, we may have been rescued from the pointless measures we were choosing. Thanks to you.

  23. Man of the decade?….he couldnt win man of the hour with Gina lookin like that lol

  24. Good write-up, I am normal visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the nice operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a long time. “Our opinions do not really blossom into fruition until we have expressed them to someone else.” by Mark Twain.

  25. velo enfant says:

    Dead indited content material, regards for information. “Necessity is the mother of taking chances.” by Mark Twain.

  26. I like this weblog it’s a master piece! Glad I found this on google.

  27. Great piece of info! May I reference part of this on my blog if I post a backlink to this webpage? Thx.

  28. Thank you for your site post. Jones and I have been saving to get a new book on this matter and your blog post has made us all to save all of our money. Your notions really resolved all our questions. In fact, in excess of what we had acknowledged previous to the time we came upon your excellent blog. My partner and i no longer nurture doubts as well as a troubled mind because you truly attended to the needs here. Thanks

  29. Thanks for the write up! Also, just a heads up, your RSS feeds aren’t working. Could you take a look at that?

  30. We still can not quite feel that I could become one of those reading through the important points found on your web blog. My family and I are sincerely thankful on your generosity and for providing me possibility pursue my chosen career path. Appreciate your sharing the important information I got from your website.

Leave a Reply

